graveyards

I remember the year my mother’s mother passed away (may her soul rest in peace), and how difficult it was on my mother’s family.

A year ago I had the opportunity to visit her grave (being the first time I had ever met her). It was a Friday afternoon, and my uncle had come back from Jummah. He picked my sister, two cousins, and I up from the house and we made our way to the graveyard. The drive was fairly long however as we approached my uncle instructed us to start reciting some Quran. So we did, and the reality of the situation had then hit.

We approached the gates to the graveyard, and the graveyard keeper let us in. We had then parked nearest to where my grandmother was buried and made our way out of the car. My uncle instructed us to each grab watering cans and to fill them up with as much water as we could carry. Soon after we made our way to where my grandmother was buried, and began to make duaa for her. As we went around and made duaa, each person took the opportunity to pour some water on top of where she was buried (this was done to ensure that the sand wouldn’t rise and if there was no one to water it, it would). As we were watering, we all couldn’t help but cry. But we continued to water, and our uncle insisted that we water neighboring graves incase no one came to visit that day. After we had emptied the watering cans we made our way back to the car, and had left the graveyard with heavy hearts.

I’m sure you’ve heard the saying that death is a reminder for the living, and wallahi the accuracy of this statement is undoubtedly true. When we think of the deceased, we think of ourselves and the situations we are currently in. We assess the things we’ve done, are doing, and plan to do.

This visit allowed me to see something in myself. This visit allowed me to understand the importance of time, and the need for me to worship Him the best way I know how.

May Allah forgive the deceased, and the living May He protect them, and allow them admittance into Jannah. May He guide and open our hearts. Ameen ya Rabb.

Leave a comment