looking for love in a coffee shop

I’ve always romanticized the idea of meeting someone, and falling in love at a coffee shop. Ideally Tim Hortons wouldn’t be my first option, but living in Toronto I may have to settle.

So this is exactly how the rest of my life would begin…

I’d walk in with a new hijab on (my colours are usually dark blues, or reds), I’d order and take a seat closest to the window. The love of my life, the father of my children (not to be so futuristic) would walk in, notice me, and then of course lower his gaze.

As I pretend to be texting, no wait reading a book he finishes up and takes the seat directly behind me. As a side note, i must mention that I appreciate assertiveness in males and an appropriate approach. So i give him another 10 mins (little does he know I’m checking the time, and must be off soon) and lo and behold he makes his way to my table. Keeping a distance, and not intruding by taking a seat, he apologizes for interrupting me and asks if there is any way he could have my contact information. Of course I give it to him (6ft brother with a beard, i couldn’t say no), my email that is and not even out the door and i receive his email.

Fast forward to today, and email after email here we are today.. in love..

i wish.

This hasn’t happened yet, still hopeful to say the least.

Leave a comment